Manufacturing and Craft

The past few days I have been working on the construction of my individual canvases.  There are three points I have been trying to improve with the canvases: efficiency, craft and storage.

The First Nine cardboard Canvases

For efficiency, I want to be able to make more of these canvases, or at least the parts to them, in shorter amounts of time.  The way I plan to do this is instead of making each individual one step by step, I will do steps in mass.  So I started with a 50 x 100 sheet of cardboard and then cut out 12 x 12 inch sheets of cardboard, maybe I’ll cut out 20 at a time instead of just one.  So I made templates to help me draw these steps on the cardboard.

The four templates I am using to make the squares

The four templates I am using to make the squares

So far I have made a decent collection of 12″ square pieces that I can just pick up and start working on one.

Collection of 12" Cardboard Squares

Collection of 12″ Cardboard Squares

The next parts are craft and storage.  Right now the edges are bothersome.  The packing tape is one way to hold these pieces together, but how can I hold them together and maintain the cardboard on the outside aesthetic, and keep the integrity of the cardboard.

DSC01075

Side of Canvas using packing tape

I decided to put Velcro dots on the inside of the flaps to hold the canvas together.  This serves the two goals of craft and storage–the cardboard will look more cleaned up and it will also be easy to disassemble and store flat.

Velcro Flaps on the inside of the canvas

Velcro Flaps on the inside of the canvas

But this created a new challenge.  Since the Velcro has width, the inside flap will no longer sit flat with the outside edge it is connecting with.  This causes the edges of the canvas to sit crooked.

Crooked sides visible on both canvases

Crooked sides visible on both canvases

This caused me to create a new template for the canvases.  This will slow down process of making them, but will make them appear more like squares, and less crooked.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Construction | Cardboard

Leave a Reply

